Skip to content

Farewell to the Blog

April 18, 2011
by

I thought that it would be fitting to make my final post a reflection on blogging through the lens of political theory.

I have found it engaging to be able to learn about theorists in class and to immediately apply them to everyday life. The blog has become one of the first places that I turn when I want to better understand a theory or to see new ways to apply it. It is a fast paced place where we can get our views and interpretations out in the open. We also get to spice things up with videos, pictures, and even polls.

The greatest feature of the blog is the user base. Through comments we are able to give input. We identify good posts and bad posts with ratings. We give our interpretation, critiques, and ideas for improvement. Everyone has something to add.

Haters gonna hate

I also enjoyed how we were able to avoid the "hate"

I feel that Mill would be envious of what we have to work with here on the blog. As he said, “the particular evil of silencing a particular opinion is, that it is robbing the human race; posterity as well as the existing generation; those who dissent from the opinion still more than those who hold it.” Here no one is silenced; no opinion or view is wrong until someone gives a convincing argument proving so. Even then, one is only right or wrong in the eyes of those agreeing with a given interpretation. We are able to contribute to the greater understanding of all the students of the class, and it really isn’t an issue of whether we are “right” or “wrong”. All posts have something to add and nothing but the passage of time can hide them. We can even spark up a conversation about new applications and interpretations or add our own ideas in the comments. It’s unbelievable!

We are able to bring about a general will of sorts, similar to the one that Rousseau talks about in his theory. We contribute our interpretations, give rebuttals, and inform other readers of how we feel things should be interpreted. We are able to grow toward a consensus as peers and become more articulate in our interpretation and expression of theory.

This blog is an amazing tool and is an exercise in political theory in it of itself. It has been interesting and I am proud to say that we have been working toward the truth as scholars and equals.

I just like this video and wanted to work it in before the end of the year

7 Comments
  1. Pierre Gerondeau permalink
    April 18, 2011 11:54 PM

    This was a very interesting post, and I agree that I definitely learned a lot from this course from the blog, and trying to apply the ideas of old political theorists to modern topics. The texts in this course were intriguing and engaging, but at times they were really tough. However, I think that keeping up with the comments and making longer posts really opened my eyes up to political theory, and allowed me to think in a creative/political way that might not have been possible without the blog.

  2. April 19, 2011 12:08 PM

    I agree! I liked that if I needed more examples or another explanation I could just go to the blog and read how others connected or understood what we were learning. I wish more classes had this type of output because the blog really helped connected the class in a continuous discussion. I’m bummed the semester went by so fast, this was an interesting class.

  3. Rebecca Birnbaum permalink
    April 19, 2011 2:13 PM

    I definitely agree. This blog was a great way to better understand difficult course concepts and it allowed me to apply political theory to modern issues and analyze them with different theoretical perspectives.

  4. April 19, 2011 2:59 PM

    Please don’t stop blogging. I found your ideas very compelling and I’m sure they do more to change the world than you realize. Please continue with a personal blog or something like that.

  5. kkokotil permalink
    April 20, 2011 5:18 PM

    I agree, the blog was very helpful for me when it came to understanding certain concepts. This was probably because fellow students were the ones writing the blogs and comments, and thus it was usually in a language that I could understand much better. For future students who are debating which optional assignments to do, I would definately tell them to blog because I believe I gained the most from it. It helped me become more comfortable with voicing my opinions, and gave me the opportunity to explore topics that I previously had not thought about. I also agree with the idea that Mill would have loved this blog, because it was a way for us to all contribute our own ideas, rather than knock others’ down.

  6. hazaarou permalink
    April 26, 2011 10:17 PM

    I agree that Mill would have enjoyed this blog as all of our posts mixed to create a pretty cool atmosphere of political thought. Anytime I needed some explanation or clearing up I could come here for it and I really enjoyed your posts. Maybe you should continue writing some posts because your thoughts really do help!

  7. December 18, 2012 10:03 AM

    I create a leave a response whenever I appreciate
    a article on a site or I have something to valuable to contribute to the discussion.
    It is caused by the sincerness communicated in the post I read.

    And after this article Farewell to the Blog Life Examinations.
    I was actually excited enough to drop a commenta response ;) I
    do have 2 questions for you if you don’t mind. Is it just me or do a few of these responses come across like written by brain dead people? :-P And, if you are writing on additional sites, I would like to follow you. Would you make a list all of your community pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 80 other followers

