Skip to content

The missed opportunity on Locke and Mill

December 20, 2010

The views on our previous president tend to be pretty polarized, but I thought it would be (I hope) a bipartisan nod to the course on introduction to political theory to acknowledge the following. Alas, I have yet to read Decision Points, but I did what all so-called intellectuals do: I read the NY Times review of the book. And there, Michael Kinsley writes the following

Asked at one of the presidential debates who his favorite philosopher was, he thought of answering Locke or Mill, he says, but felt mysteriously compelled to answer, “Christ.”

It is, of course, not to knock the last named philosopher to appreciate 43 was big on Locke or Mill, too. Maybe it’s not entirely surprising, but it’s worth noting.

Comments are closed.

