Skip to content

What does a Dj have in common with Political Theory?

March 11, 2011

I don’t know how many of you enjoy electronic music or have heard of an artist called Wolfgang Gartner. He is one of the foremost among upcoming Disk Jockey’s today and some time ago released a track called ‘Illmerica’, which became a rage and is a very popular song today. So the other day I was listening to the song and I thought to myself, “Hm…I have never seen the video of this song’. Fortunately enough this happened to be after a POLSCI 101 class. Now before I start sounding as if I am rambling I would like you all to see this video.

Do you see a very fast forwarded version of American history there?

I for one am a great fan of this video. It reminds me a lot about a lot of things we have learnt in this class. From the scenes about the racial segregation and slavery, to the world wars and then onto more recent times such as the industrial boom and then the financial meltdown. Furthermore, concepts such as the state of nature, and the equality of man, the nature of war and slavery etc are brought out very nicely in this video through the portrayals of conflict.

I agree in this blog post I have not done thorough analysis backed by our any texts, but my intention is to bring about a sort of a revision of the concepts we have encountered through popular media.

I hope all of you enjoyed the song and its music video!

PS  – Wolfgang Gartner is performing in Michigan in April.

2 Comments
  1. nehajain permalink
    March 11, 2011 9:42 PM

    This is an interesting post. The song is pretty good, but I don’t really understand the correlation between it and the video. The video is also intriguing; it’s a not-so subtle critique of American history and politics. It’s a good example of loosely connecting what we’re learning in class to today’s popular culture.

    • phgerondeau permalink
      March 14, 2011 12:33 AM

      I agree with nehajain. The song is interesting, but I’m not sure how it relates to the political theory we have discussed in class. The “not-so-subtle critique” of the video, on the other hand, is an interesting way of using new media to view the equality of man and the state of war, the state of nature, and slavery in American history. For example, Hobbes discussed slavery in “Leviathan,” so as nehajain says, the video “loosely connects” the readings to modern life. Hobbes said that slaves made society go to a state of war. In American history, obviously the Civil War was fought mainly over slavery, but today I think Hobbes’ opinion of slavery is too harsh to truly compare it to old American society. Slaves did not push society to war; people who were against slavery pushed society to war so that the slaves could get the rights they deserved.

Comments are closed.

